Palm Beach County, Florida · grants
Money we could go get
Grants and low-cost loans can pay for things a budget can’t. This page lists real programs, what each pays for, who can apply, and when — read from each agency’s own page. Programs open, close, and change; always confirm at the link before applying. Dates and terms were read on September 30, 2026.
Florida programs
Florida Recreation Development Assistance Program (FRDAP) due October 15, 2026 · 3 days left
Florida Department of Environmental Protection
| Pays for | Buying or building land for public outdoor recreation — parks, trails, playgrounds, boat and beach access. |
| Who | Counties, cities, towns and special districts that run public recreation sites. |
| How much | Up to $200,000 per request. |
| Local share | Depends on project size (see the application guide). |
Due 5:00 p.m. EDT, through the DEP Grantee Portal only (Google Chrome required). This cycle funds FY2027-28 and depends on the Legislature’s budget.
Official page →
Resilient Florida Grant Program this year’s round is closed
Florida Department of Environmental Protection
| Pays for | Projects that protect critical assets from flooding and sea level rise, and the vulnerability studies that come first. |
| Who | Counties, cities and towns, certain special districts, and regional resilience groups. Implementation projects require a finished vulnerability assessment. |
| How much | Not stated on the program page. |
| Local share | Not stated on the program page. |
The 2026 portal was open July 1 – September 1, 2026. Watch for the 2027 cycle.
Official page →
Waterways Assistance Program this year’s round is closed
Florida Inland Navigation District (FIND)
| Pays for | Channel dredging, boat ramps, shoreline stabilization, fishing piers, waterway education, boating safety. |
| Who | Cities, counties, port authorities and special taxing districts in the District’s 12 counties, including Brevard. |
| How much | About $10–12 million a year across the District; capped at 90% of the FIND tax the county pays. |
| Local share | FIND pays up to 75% for public navigation projects and up to 50% for other projects. |
Applications open in January and are due by the end of March; awards are announced in October.
Official page →
Florida Boating Improvement Program this year’s round is closed
Florida Fish and Wildlife Conservation Commission
| Pays for | Boat ramps, docks, moorings, channel markers and boating education. |
| Who | Counties, cities and other government bodies. |
| How much | Not stated on the program page. |
| Local share | Not stated on the program page. |
“The next application period will be announced in 2027.”
Official page →
Building Resilient Infrastructure and Communities (BRIC) this year’s round is closed
Florida Division of Emergency Management (FEMA money)
| Pays for | Projects that lower damage from future disasters — drainage, flood protection, stronger buildings. |
| Who | State agencies, local governments and tribes, through the state. |
| How much | Nationally competitive. |
| Local share | Federal share up to 75%; up to 90% for small, impoverished communities. |
Notices of interest were due August 14, 2026.
Official page →
Federal programs — by what they pay for
Jails, public safety, and recovery
Community Facilities Direct Loan & Grant no deadline — apply any time
USDA Rural Development
| Pays for | Public buildings and equipment. Its list includes police stations, prisons, fire departments and fire trucks — and community gardens, food pantries, community kitchens, food banks, and greenhouses. |
| Who | Counties, cities, nonprofits, and tribes, for places of 20,000 people or fewer. |
| How much | Loans up to 40 years; grants of 15% to 75% of the cost, depending on the community’s size and income. |
| Local share | Depends on the grant share |
Official page →
Adult Treatment Court Program due November 6, 2026 · 25 days left
U.S. Justice Department (BJA)
| Pays for | Starting or improving a drug or treatment court. |
| Who | Counties, cities, states, tribes. |
| How much | Up to $950,000 to start one; up to $1,025,750 to improve one. |
| Local share | 25% |
A first step on Grants.gov is due Oct 30, 2026.
Official page →
Opioid, Stimulant, and Substance Use Program (COSSUP) this year’s round is closed
U.S. Justice Department (BJA)
| Pays for | Treatment and recovery, including treatment inside jails and at release. |
| Who | Counties, cities, states, tribes; rural counties have their own category. |
| How much | Up to $1,000,000 over three years for a rural local government. |
| Local share | None |
The 2026 round closed in September. Watch for the 2027 round.
Official page →
Water and sewer
State Revolving Funds (drinking water and clean water) no deadline — apply any time
EPA, run by each state
| Pays for | Low-interest loans for water and sewer projects; part of some loans is forgiven. Includes separate money for lead pipes and for “forever chemicals” (PFAS). |
| Who | Public water and sewer systems. |
| How much | Set by the state. |
| Local share | Loan |
Each state keeps its own priority list and dates.
Official page →
Water & Waste Disposal Loans & Grants no deadline — apply any time
USDA Rural Development
| Pays for | Drinking water, sewer, solid waste, and storm drainage. |
| Who | Rural areas and towns of 10,000 people or fewer. |
| How much | Long-term, low-interest loans; grants when funds allow. |
| Local share | Loan |
Official page →
WIFIA water loans no deadline — apply any time
EPA
| Pays for | Large water and sewer projects. |
| Who | Public systems; small communities (25,000 or fewer) get easier terms. |
| How much | Small-community projects of $5 million or more; up to 80% of the cost. |
| Local share | Loan |
Official page →
Roads and bridges
BUILD grants this year’s round is closed
U.S. Department of Transportation
| Pays for | Road, bridge, and other surface transportation projects, and planning. |
| Who | Counties, cities, tribes. |
| How much | Rural projects from $1 million to $25 million. |
| Local share | Rural projects can be paid up to 100% by the federal share |
The 2026 round closed in February. Watch for the next notice.
Official page →
Safe Streets and Roads for All this year’s round is closed
U.S. Department of Transportation
| Pays for | Road-safety action plans and safety projects. |
| Who | Counties, cities, tribes. |
| How much | Planning grants of $100,000 to $5 million. |
| Local share | 20% |
The 2026 round closed in May; the agency says about $1 billion remains for the next round.
Official page →
Fire and emergency
Assistance to Firefighters Grants this year’s round is closed
FEMA
| Pays for | Equipment, protective gear, training, and vehicles — paid straight to fire departments, including volunteer departments. |
| Who | Fire departments and EMS organizations. |
| How much | Up to $1 million for departments serving 100,000 people or fewer. |
| Local share | 5% for places of 20,000 or fewer |
The last window ran May 19 – June 22, 2026. Opens about once a year.
Official page →
Housing
Mutual Self-Help Housing (Section 523) no deadline — apply any time
USDA Rural Development
| Pays for | Pays a nonprofit to guide groups of families who build each other’s homes; the families do most of the labor. |
| Who | Nonprofits and public bodies. |
| How much | Set case by case. |
| Local share | None listed |
Official page →
Home loans and repair help (Sections 502 and 504) no deadline — apply any time
USDA Rural Development
| Pays for | Low-interest home loans for low-income rural families; repair loans to $40,000 at 1%, and repair grants to $10,000 for very-low-income owners 62 and older. |
| Who | Families apply directly. |
| How much | See the program page. |
| Local share | None |
Official page →
Jobs and growth
Public Works and Economic Adjustment no deadline — apply any time
U.S. Economic Development Administration
| Pays for | Infrastructure that supports jobs. |
| Who | Counties, cities, nonprofits, and others. |
| How much | $100,000 to $30 million. |
| Local share | Required |
Official page →